Trolley Stop 1: State Street & Atlantic Ave
- Long Wharf
- New England Aquarium
- Boston Harbor Cruises
- Faneuil Hall
- Quincy Market
- Custom House
Built 1710-1721, Long Wharf was once the longest wharf in the country, extending roughly 1,600 feet out into Boston harbor. At that time it was also one of the busiest piers in the colonies as its great length allowed deep-water ships, which couldn’t approach close to shore, to dock and unload directly to warehouses and shops on shore.
Founded in 1969 on Boston’s waterfront, the New England Aquarium is considered one of the first modern public aquariums and is credited with revolutionizing the aquarium experience for visitors through its emphasis on a more natural setting for aquatic life.
In 1742, Peter Faneuil built Faneuil Hall for the commercial benefit of Boston and as a meeting hall. The hall became known as the “Cradle of Liberty” where lively debates led to the Revolutionary War.
Designed by Alexander Parris and opened in 1826 to complement the existing Faneuil Hall, Quincy Market was named after Boston Mayor Josiah Quincy. Once Boston’s main shopping and produce market, the complex of three buildings now hosts over 150 retail shops and 50 restaurants and is the fourth most visited site in the United States.
Originally of neoclassical design, this Greek Revival structure combined a Greek Doric portico with a Roman dome and was built in 1849. Several earlier buildings in Boston had served as customs houses but this was the longest lasting, a tower having been added in 1913-1915 due to increased shipping. Boston purchased the building from the federal government in 1987 and, after ten years of disuse, began its conversion to an 84 suite hotel in 1997.